Notifications
×
Subscribe
Unsubscribe
General

How To Turn Off Syncing Contacts From Instagram

Even if you don’t use Facebook very regularly these days, Instagram and WhatsApp are social media and networking must-haves for many people. And, in case you didn’t know, Facebook owns both of these apps. You may upload your contacts to Instagram’s servers to find people you know on the photo-sharing platform, which is a lesser-known option. If you no longer want your contacts to be synced with Facebook’s servers, here’s how to disable contact sync and remove your Instagram contact list.

Delete your Instagram contact list

As previously indicated, the “sync contacts” feature makes it easier to locate people you may know on Instagram.

However, since this is a Facebook-owned app, you probably don’t want to share any more personal information with the social media giant than is strictly necessary. Fortunately, turning off contact sync and deleting your contact information from Instagram’s servers is not straightforward.

Disable contact synchronization in the Instagram app.

Preventing Instagram from accessing your contacts is the first step before deleting contacts from Instagram servers. After all, there’s no incentive for Instagram to save your contacts once you’ve followed everyone you know.

Follow these steps to accomplish this:

Note: I’m using Instagram for iPhone to demonstrate this technique.

The instructions, however, are the same for Android devices, so you can follow them even if you have an Android phone.

In the Instagram app, tap your profile symbol in the bottom navigation bar.

Then, in the top right corner of the screen, hit the overflow menu symbol.
Select “Settings” from the drop-down menu and navigate to the “Account” section.
Turn off the toggle next to “Contacts sync” to prevent Instagram from uploading your contacts to its servers.
Instagram’s contact list should be removed from their servers.

You can also read about this   Exchange Norman Spink 2021-22

We’ll delete the uploaded contacts from Instagram servers now that you’ve disabled the contact sync feature in the Instagram app.

To do so, you’ll need to use a computer to access Instagram’s website. Unfortunately, you can’t erase your contacts from Instagram’s servers using the mobile app.

Log in to your Instagram account on the Instagram website.

In the upper right corner of the screen, click on your profile symbol.
From the context menu, select “Settings.”
Then select ‘Manage contacts’.
To erase all of your synced contacts from Instagram’s servers, go to this page and click ‘Delete all.’
The button will disappear and will not click if you have never synchronized your contacts with the photo-sharing site.

That pretty about sums it up. All of your synced contacts have been removed from Instagram’s servers. Make sure that contact syncing is switched off in the Instagram app so that your contacts don’t sync again. Keep your private information off of Instagram’s servers. You should erase your contacts from Instagram’s servers now that you know how to do so to improve your privacy.

After all, why give firms like Instagram and Facebook more user data if it isn’t likely to bring any value to your experience? Have you ever given Instagram permission to see your contact list? Do you sync your contacts on a regular basis to find new users? Will you ever erase these contacts from Instagram’s servers if that’s the case?

Please let us know in the comments section.

Related Articles

Back to top button